Start a conversation

Can I Avoid Having to Login Each Time?

If you are being asked to login every time you visit your Encyro account, it is likely that:

  • your or your organization's compliance settings have enforced automatic log-out: you will be logged out if your Encyro account is left unattended for 15 minutes or more, OR
  • you checked the "This is a shared computer" item on the login screen.

Compliance Setting

To avoid having to login each time:

  1. Go to Settings (log in if prompted).
  2. Scroll down and click on “Compliance: HIPAA, GDPR,…”
  3. Un-check the box “Automatically log me out if I am inactive for more than 15 minutes”
  4. Enter your password and click “Submit.”

If your account is part of an organization, you may have to change this in the organization's compliance settings and this will impact all users in your organization.

Staying Compliant

Automatic logoff is required for HIPAA, GDPA, FINRA, GLBA and other compliance. So if you are subject to compliance but are disabling the above option, then you should ensure that your computers and all devices where you access your Encyro account are set to automatically lock if left unattended for 15 minutes (or a smaller duration).

For Windows, here is how you can activate the screen lock: https://blog.encyro.com/how-to-force-windows-10-to-lock-itself-after-inactivity-for-all-users/

For mobile devices, see https://blog.encyro.com/digital-safeguards-for-device-security/ and scroll down (or find “ios” and then “Android”) – they are discussed under section Device Encryption but describe both the screen lock and encryption together.

Shared Computer

If you want to stay logged in (or use what some websites call "remember me"), then login with the item "This is a shared computer" left not checked on the login screen.

When that item is checked, Encyro logs you out after you have been inactive, to prevent subsequent users on the computer from accessing your account.


Note: Even with the above settings, you will be asked to log in again if you return to your account after many days. This is to help keep your data secure.

Choose files or drag and drop files
  1. Team Encyro

  2. Posted
  3. Updated