Will secure content end up saved in Outlook?
Is a copy of the Secure Message stored in my sent emails folder?
No. The secure message is not stored within Outlook. This reduces the risk of sensitive data ending up stored in your sent email folder, your email server and eventually a copy of the sent emails folder on your other devices where you access your email. For instance, your sent emails may be synchronized with your mobile device as well.
Exception to the rule: If you start composing a message (new message, or a response to a received message) and then save it as draft before sending it, then that secure content will end up being stored within Outlook, and may also be synchronized with your email server, and other email access devices. The secure content will only be removed by Encyro when you send the message. Until then, it will remain stored. Since Encyro does not wish to delete any new content you have typed in, the Encyro Outlook addin cannot automatically remove such content until you actually send out this message.
A draft may also be saved if you start a response inline (without popping out the response into a new window) and then switch to another message in Outlook. In such cases Outlook automatically saves a draft without you having clicked the save button. To minimize such saving of sensitive content, the Encyro Outlook addin automatically starts reply-forward responses to secure messages in a new window (so Outlook will ask you before saving a draft).
Are received messages if decrypted in Outlook, saved to my Outlook inbox or other folders?
No. The secure message is displayed but not saved. This helps prevent accidental synchronization of your sensitive data to your email server and your other email access devices that may not always be secured.
Note: If you start a response to a secure message and then save that as draft, then the secure content will end up being saved by Outlook, and likely synchronized to your email server and other devices.